Association Logo
Intro

Facebooklogo

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                     

A.A.A.S

Asociación de los Amigos por los Animales de Sosúa

The A.A.A.S was established in July 1998 by Judith Liggio,…

Judy

…who had come to the Dominican Republic 1996, working some time for Dr. Robert Amelingmeir before opening Judy’s Pet Lodge which, besides boarding paying guests, offers also constantly a temporary home to numerous rescued dogs awaiting adoption.

Judy's Pet Lodge

Kathryn Neal, who spent the last 20 years of her life in the Dominican Republic, and, being appalled by the fate of many Dominican stray dogs, mobilized other residents to engage in Humane work. With her aid the construction of the A.A.A.S spay and neuter clinic…

neuter clinic - the beginning
…was begun 2005…

neuter clinic
…and completed 2007.

In August 2007 the first spay and neuter operative took place. Since then many hundreds of animals have been spayed and neutered here. Veterinarians throughout the world are invited to come and help as volunteers.

clinic clinic clinic

The clinic is equipped with 2 operating tables, 2 anesthesia machines and an autoclave to sterilize instruments. A pre-OP team prepares the animals for surgery and a post-OP team monitors their recovery. A qualified anesthetist is available to assist veterinarians during operations. Lots of instruments and medical supplies are being donated to the A.A.A.S, however, they are always very grateful when visiting vets bring some supplies with them. The A.A.A.S can provide accommodation and a recreational program for the vets. European vets wanting to come to Sosúa may benefit from the funding program of the Association for Aid and Support of the Creole dogs: We pay up to 50% of the flight costs.

Please contact gorskiisabel@t-online.de

All of the projects the Association for Aid and Support of Creole dogs has been participating in by sending either vets or donations, you will find under www.kreolischerhund.de - Spay And Neuter Clinics and archives

Kathryn Neal didn’t live to see the tremendous success of the clinic which was named Linda after the first dog she rescued from the beach, however her belief “that one of the most effective ways of improving the quality of life of all local animals is to promote free spay and neuter programs in order to reduce the number of abandoned and homeless puppies and kittens and to control the spread of transmissible diseases” lives on. This belief is shared deeply by us, so we will do everything in our power to aid the A.A.A.S in their efforts to make this dream come true.

In memory of Kathryn Neal the Kathryn Neal Animal Relief Fund was founded 2007 seated in the United States, which continuously provides fundings and support to the A.A.A.S clinic.

Hundreds of animals of poor families are being treated and vaccinated in the clinic each year without charge; their families are being helped with pet food, medication and advice how to care for their pet.

A foster program has been started, providing food, de-wormer, vaccinations, castration and regular controls through volunteers, for animals taken care of by Dominican families who like to have a pet but can’t afford it.

This program enables the A.A.A.S to place more strays into the community and offers a great chance to teach local people the right attitude towards animals.

No possibility is missed to teach young people the right understanding and treatment of animals.

teaching teaching

In the community outreach program, over 500 hundred free roaming animals are being monitored by volunteers, who treat them regularly against parasites and worms and keep an eye on likely candidates for the next operative.

The A.A.A.S is constantly trying to raise funds through charity events and contests. March 2010 a thriftstore was opened in the shopping zone of Sosua’s tourist area. It helps towards covering the clinic’s regular expenses.

second hand shop second hand shop

Drop by on your next visit the Dominican Republic or visit Judy’s Pet Lodge in Sosua. They are located on the Sosua-Cabarete highway next to the Coastal Gas Station. Maybe the pet of your life time is waiting there! (All travel preparations for adopted animals are being taken care of)

Internet contact: www.aaasosua.com

email: info@aaasosua.com

Telephone: 809 571 1167

If you wish to make a donation while visiting the Dom. Rep., see Sosua Dogs Donation

or donate via PayPal

or to the account of the Association for Aid and Support of the Creole dogs:

Verein zur Hilfe und Förderung des kreolischen Hundes e.V

VR Bank Landau eG
Account: 25 26 603
BLZ: 741 910 00
IBAN: DE56 7419 1000 0002 5266 03
BIC: GENODEF1LND

Vereinslogo
Intro

Facebooklogo

 


Unterstützen Sie uns mit
Ihrem Online-Einkauf
ohne Extrakosten


clicks4charity logo

                                                                                                                                                                                                     

A.A.A.S

Asociación de los Amigos por los Animales de Sosúa

Die A.A.A.S wurde 1998 von Judith Liggio und Kathryn Neal gegründet.

Judy

Judith Liggio kam 1996 in die Dominikanische Republik und arbeitete eine Zeitlang in der Klinik von Dr. Robert Amelingmeir, bevor sie die Tierpension "Judy's Pet Lodge" eröffnete, die neben einigen zahlenden Gästen auch immer eine große Zahl geretteter Tiere beherbergt, die auf ein Zuhause warten.

Judy's Pet Lodge

Kathryn Neal verbrachte die letzten 20 Jahre ihres Lebens in der Dominikanischen Republik. Entsetzt über den Zustand der vielen Straßenhunde, engagierte sie sich für den Tierschutz und konnte auch andere Residenten dafür gewinnen. Mit ihrer Unterstützung wurde mit dem Bau der Klinik in Sosua…

neuter clinic - the beginning
…2005 begonnen…

neuter clinic
…2007 wurde die Klinik fertig.

Im August 2007 fand ein erstes, kleines Kastrationsprojekt statt. Seither sind Hunderte von Tieren jedes Jahr hier kastriert worden. Tierärzte aus aller Welt sind eingeladen, nach Sosua zu kommen und sich an Kastrationsprojekten zu beteiligen.

clinic clinic clinic

Die Klinik ist sehr gut ausgestattet und verfügt über 2 OP-Tische, 2 Inhalationsnarkosegeräte und einen Sterilisator/Autoklav. Ein Team ehrenamtlicher Helfer bereitet die Tiere für die Operation vor, ein weiteres Team überwacht die Tiere post-operativ. Während der Operationen steht ein qualifizierter Anästhesist zur Verfügung. Viele Instrumente und medizinische Bedarfsartikel werden gespendet; die A.A.A.S ist immer sehr dankbar, wenn Tierärzte medizinisches Material mitbringen. Die A.A.A.S sorgt für Unterbringung der Tierärzte und Freizeitgestaltung. Europäische Tierärzte, die an einem Kastrationsprojekt teilnehmen möchten, können von dem Kastrationsprogramm des Vereins zur Hilfe und Förderung des kreolischen Hundes e.V. profitieren: Wir übernehmen bis zu 50% der Flugkosten.

Bitte kontaktieren Sie:gorskiisabel@t-online.de

Alle Kastrationsprojekte, an denen der Verein zur Hilfe und Förderung des kreolischen Hundes e.V. beteiligt war, finden Sie unter www.kreolischerhund.de - Kastrationsprojekte

Kathryn Neal erlebte den großen Erfolg der Klinik nicht mehr, die den Namen Linda trägt, nach dem ersten Strandhund, den sie rettete. Sie war davon überzeugt, daß ein kostenloses Kastrationsprogramm die wirkungsvollste Methode ist, die Zahl herrenloser und ausgesetzter Hunde und Katzen zu verringern und die Verbreitung ansteckender Krankheiten zu kontrollieren. Wir teilen diese Überzeugung zutiefst und werden alles in unserer Macht Stehende tun, um die A.A.A.S dabei zu unterstützen, Kathryn Neals Vision in die Tat umzusetzen.

Zum Gedenken an Kathryn Neal wurde 2007 die Stiftung Kathryn Neal Animal Relief Fund gegründet, die ihren Sitz in den USA hat und die Klinik in Sosua fortdauernd unterstützt.

Jährlich werden Hunderte von Tieren mittelloser, einheimischer Familien kostenlos in der Klinik geimpft und behandelt; die Familien erhalten Futterspenden und Medikamente und werden in allen Fragen der Tierhaltung und -pflege beraten.

Einheimische Familien, die sich ein Tier wünschen, es sich aber nicht leisten können, haben die Möglichkeit, als Pflegefamilien für von der A.A.A.S aufgenommene Tiere zu fungieren. Die A.A.A.S übernimmt die Kosten für Futter, Wurmkuren, Impfungen, Medikamente und Kastration. Die Familien werden regelmäßig von ehrenamtlichen Helfern kontrolliert und beraten.Die A.A.A.S kann dadurch mehr Tiere unterbringen und hat eine großartige Möglichkeit, Einheimischen eine liebevolle Einstellung zu Tieren zu vermitteln.

Keine Gelegenheit wird versäumt, um jungen Menschen Verständnis und Kenntnisse in der richtigen Behandlung von Tieren beizubringen.

Schulung Schulung

Über 500 Straßentiere werden von ehrenamtlichen Helfern überwacht und regelmäßig gegen Parasiten und Würmer behandelt, unter ihnen befinden sich auch immer Kandidaten für das nächste Kastrationsprojekt.

Impressionen Impressionen Impressionen Impressionen Impressionen Impressionen

Die A.A.A.S versucht ständig, durch Wohltätigkeitsveranstaltungen und Wettbewerbe die Finanzierung der Klinik und der Tierschutzarbeit zu sichern. Im März 2010 wurde ein Second Hand Laden in Sosua's Touristenmeile eröffnet.

second hand shop second hand shop

Schauen Sie doch mal hinein bei Ihrem nächsten Urlaub in der Dom. Rep.oder besuchen Sie Judy's Pet Lodge direkt neben der Tankstelle am Sosua-Cabarete Highway. Vieleicht erwartet Sie hier der vierbeinige Freund, den Sie schon immer gesucht haben! (Adoptierte Tiere werden von der A.A.A.S für die Ausfuhr vorbereitet.)

Hier können Sie die A.A.A.S im Internet besuchen: www.aaasosua.com

E-Mail: info@aaasosua.com

Telefon: 809 571 1167

Sie können der A.A.A.S während eines Dom. Rep. Aufenthalts eine Spende machen, siehe Sosua Hunde Spende

oder Spenden Sie via PayPal

oder Spenden Sie an unser Spendenkonto:

Verein zur Hilfe und Förderung des kreolischen Hundes e.V

VR Bank Landau eG
Kontonummer: 25 26 603
BLZ: 741 910 00
IBAN: DE56 7419 1000 0002 5266 03
BIC: GENODEF1LND