Association Logo
Intro

Facebooklogo

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                     

My Travel to the Dominican Republic

(March 31st – April 14th 2016)

 

1. Tourism and Animal welfare in Punta Cana

2. Meeting with Peace Corps

3. Spay and neuter operative in Samaná (part 1)

4. Spay and neuter operative in Samaná (part 2)

5. Spay and neuter operative in Samaná (part 3)

6. The Caribbean dream…

 

1. Tourism and Animal welfare in Punta Cana

As already my first visit in the Dominican Republic in 2012 also my second journey served the purpose to meet our partners with whom we work together for years already as well as new ones and to plan new projects and just like the first trip also this one will have a great influence on our work in the years to come.

March 31st I flew from Cologne with TuiFly to Punta Cana where I landed at 4 o’clock in the afternoon. I was met by Christiana Stämpfli, Viviana Vitariello and Sylvia Mendéz, easy to recognize in their RescátaMe T-shirts.

Christiana and Viviana had to leave after a brief discussion about the most important issues of our project Tourism and Animal welfare. Sylvia and I drove to the veterinary clinic of Dr. José Malaret whom I had met already in 2012 when he was still working in Bayahibe. We picked up cat traps and drove to the resorts Caribe Club Princess and Tropical Princess.


Here I saw for the first time with my own eyes the results of our work in the project Tourism and Animal welfare that started the day when I found poisoned Piggy at the beach of Sosúa, my departure day in 2012…


…and that led in countless hours of tedious work and many sleepless nights to a petition with currently more than 30.000 signatures and to already over a dozen hotels in Punta Cana that cooperate with our partner RescátaMe and had their animals spayed and neutered.

February 18th I had been contacted by a tourist who had spent her vacation in summer 2015 at the Caribe Club Princess and had taken home with her as longest lasting memory of her holiday the sight of hungry cats in advanced state of pregnancy on the resort grounds. I wrote to the hotel management in the name of 30.000 supporters of our petition No more poisoned and abused dogs and cats at hotels, beaches and in communities of the Caribbean! and their guest to convince them to seek the assistance of RescátaMe to get their cats spayed and neutered. Following a short period of hesitation because these were strays from the neighbourhood, not resort-owned cats, the hotel managers agreed after I had pointed out to them the consequences of uncontrolled cat breeding.

And now the day had come!


Sylvia Méndez hands over the cat traps to the hotel’s staff!

When Sylvia and I met again on April 14th she told me about the first successful spays.


Dr. Malaret receives the first cat.


And soon afterwards the patient is sitting on the surgeon’s table.

Back home an email awaited me with photos of the first spay candidate. The Caribe Club Princess, the Tropical Princess and also the Bavaro Princess and the Punta Cana Princess, all belonging to the same complex, were added to our travel guide Animal-friendly hotels in the Caribbean which raises the number of hotels that cooperate with animal welfare in Punta Cana up to16 of a total of 104.

But still there were 2 exciting weeks ahead of me!

My first night in the Dominican Republic I spent in a beautiful small hotel. At 6:30 the next morning I continued my journey by bus via Santo Domingo to the batey Santa Maria…


The difference between the All Inclusive tourist center Punta Cana and the batey Santa Maria couldn’t be more extreme! Here the surgeons Anja Heß and Alfred Huber spayed and neutered in February together with Swiss project director Dolores Rohrer.

I stayed here with Peace Corps volunteer Leyla, learnt a lot about her work and planned our future projects with Peace Corps…

next Chapter  |  To Top

Vereinslogo
Intro

Facebooklogo

 




clicks4charity logo

                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Meine Reise in die Dom. Rep.

(31.03. – 14.04.2016)

 

1. Tierschutz und Tourismus in Punta Cana

2. Begegnung mit Peace Corps

3. Kastrationseinsatz in Samaná (Teil 1)

4. Kastrationseinsatz in Samaná (Teil 2)

5. Kastrationseinsatz in Samaná (Teil 3)

6. Faszination Karibik…

 

1. Tierschutz und Tourismus in Punta Cana

Wie schon mein erster Besuch in der Dom. Rep. 2012 diente auch meine zweite Reise dazu, bereits bestehende Partnerschaften zu vertiefen, neue Beziehungen zu knüpfen und neue Projekte zu beginnen und, wie beim ersten Mal, so wird auch diese Reise unsere Arbeit in den kommenden Jahren nachhaltig beeinflussen.

Am 31. März flog ich von Köln mit TuiFly nach Punta Cana, wo ich dank der Zeitverschiebung um 16:00 Uhr landete. Dort begrüßten mich Christiana Stämpfli, Viviana Vitariello und Sylvia Mendéz von RescátaMe, leicht zu erkennen in ihren T-Shirts mit dem Vereinslogo.

Nach einer kurzen, aber intensiven Besprechung über das Projekt Tierschutz und Tourismus und unsere zukünftige Zusammenarbeit mussten sich Christiana und Viviana verabschieden; Sylvia und ich fuhren zur Tierklinik, wo es ein Wiedersehen mit Dr. José Malaret gab, den ich 2012 in Bayahibe kennengelernt hatte und der nun seinen Standort nach Punta Cana verlagert hat. Wir sammelten Katzenfallen ein und fuhren zu den Resorts Caribe Club Princess und Tropical Princess.


Hier durfte ich zum ersten Mal die Früchte unserer Arbeit im Projekt Tierschutz und Tourismus erleben, das mit der Auffindung des vergifteten Piggy am Strand von Sosúa am Tag meiner Abreise 2012 begann…


…und in unzähligen Stunden mühseliger Kleinarbeit und schlaflosen Nächten zu einer Petition mit aktuell über 30.000 Unterschriften und zu mittlerweile über einem Dutzend Hotels in Punta Cana geführt hat, die mit unserem Projektpartner RescátaMe kooperieren und ihre Tiere kastrieren lassen.

Am 18. 02. hatte sich eine Touristin an uns gewandt, die im Sommer 2015 im Caribe Club Princess Urlaub gemacht hatte und als intensivste Urlaubserinnerung die hungrigen und teils hochtragenden Katzen auf dem Resortgelände mit nach Hause nahm. Im Namen von 30.000 Unterstützern unserer Petition Keine vergifteten oder gequälten Hunde und Katzen mehr an Hotelanlagen, Stränden und in Kommunen der Karibik! und ihres Gastes schrieb ich an das Hotelmanagement, um es zu überzeugen, die Hilfe von RescátaMe in Anspruch zu nehmen und die Katzen kastrieren zu lassen. Nach anfänglichem Zögern, da es sich um Streuner und nicht um hoteleigene Katzen handelte, ließen sich die Hotelmanager überzeugen, nachdem ich sie auf die Folgen weiterer unkontrollierter Katzenvermehrung hingewiesen hatte.

Und nun war es soweit!


Sylvia Méndez übergibt die Katzenfallen an das Personal des Resorts!

Am 14.04. sahen wir uns wieder und Sylvia berichtete
mir von den ersten erfolgreichen Kastrationen.


Dr. Malaret nimmt die erste Katze in Empfang.


Und bald darauf sitzt der Patient auf dem OP Tisch.

Zuhause fand ich eine Mail vor vom Hotelmanagement mit Fotos der ersten Kastrationskandidatin. Das Caribe Club Princess, das Tropical Princess und auch das Bavaro Princess und das Punta Cana Princess, die zu demselben Komplex gehören, wurden in unseren Reiseführer Tierfreundliche Hotels in der Karibik aufgenommen, was die Zahl der Hotels, die in Punta Cana mit dem Tierschutz kooperieren, auf 16 von insgesamt 104 Hotels erhöht.

Doch noch lagen 2 aufregende, erlebnisreiche Wochen vor mir!

Meine erste Nacht in der Dom. Rep. verbrachte ich in einer kleinen Pension.

Am nächsten Morgen ging es um 6:30 weiter, mit dem Bus über Santo Domingo nach dem Batey Santa Maria…


Krasser könnte der Unterschied zu dem touristischen All Inclusive Zentrum Punta Cana kaum sein! Hier haben im Februar die Ärzte Anja Heß und Alfred Huber mit Dolores Rohrer kastriert.

Hier habe ich bei Peace Corps Volontärin Leyla gewohnt, ihre Arbeit kennengelernt und unsere zukünftige Zusammenarbeit mit Peace Corps geplant…

nächstes Kapitel  |  Nach oben